Blackfish

fibbo

Hi fellow raiders! :1prop:

I have been following afew posts about blackfish and I would like to experience catching them. Some raiders have been so nice as to inform me on where to obtain the weed and I did manage to score some yesterday hehe Not much luck with the blackfish though. Do you guys have any tips for a total beginner? Things like how to rig the float, what sinker, hook sizes, how long the trace should be, how to burley and certain favorable conditions to look out for to increase the chances of catching them.

Many thanks,

fibbo.

Hi fellow raiders! :1prop:

I have been following afew posts about blackfish and I would like to experience catching them. Some raiders have been so nice as to inform me on where to obtain the weed and I did manage to score some yesterday hehe Not much luck with the blackfish though. Do you guys have any tips for a total beginner? Things like how to rig the float, what sinker, hook sizes, how long the trace should be, how to burley and certain favorable conditions to look out for to increase the chances of catching them.

Many thanks,

fibbo.

where are you from fibbo? where have you been fishing for blackfish?

Yeah - can't wait for the chocolate water to clear here & then hit the blackies again!!!

Thanks for the compliment, Davy - I think I just talk about it more than most!! There are heaps better & more experienced blackie fishers out there hiding in the Fishraider ranks - a bit of a secret society, i reckon! They don't always talk of their exploits, tho!

Stewie, I have just loaded up the Alvey with some 20lb backing & 100m x 30lb Tufline! THank god for that brake! One spin & it takes off running for 5 mins & all the line comes off! I can see it will take a bit of mastering, after only really using a spinning reel!

Here is some of the weed I have vacuum packed for future use!

It worked for the social!!

Cheers

Roberta