First Time Deep Sea Fishing

Joco

WELL I grabbed the opportunity and was glad to tag along with a mate to do some deep sea fishing, as I have never done it before.... We were targeting Blue Eye and Gemfish….

The boat ride which took approximately 30km offshore or 1.5hrs, was a bit painful on the legs and pretty wet due to the swell....

On the way there I spotted out a good dozen birds, catapulting into the water like torpedos, snatching bait fish (slimy macharel)...

My friend immediately threw x2 skirts and x2 deep divers to troll, hoping something would grab it....

Passing the school of bait fish several times, we saw something chasing the fish BUT could not figure out what it was...

Finally we managed to pin point that there was a group of seals chasing the bait fish.... Disappointed!!!!!

As a result we packed up immediately and continued our journey to Browns....

Upon arrival I was amazed to see 10+ boats floating in the middle of nowhere…

My first drop I managed to land a wopper of a Blue Eye Cod, being at 75cm and around 5-6kg…. It was the biggest of the day….

kurt10.jpg

In total we picked up x6 Blue Eye Cod, x1 Gemfish & x1 shark in a matter of 4hrs….

kurt5.jpg

On one of the encounters we landed something huge and it was evident as the electric real was struggling and for the first time I saw the heavy duty rod flex properly a number of times…. After a good 10-15min of fighting with the fish, we only had 20m to go…. ALL of a sudden the rod bent so hard and next thing we heard the heavy duty mono line snap….

I chucked a tantrum, as I wanted to see this big creature from the deep, and we spent the next 5min discussing what it could have been…. Short time later we found out what it was, as the boat was being circled by a huge 3-3.5m Maco shark (150kg as my friend said), even though, to me it looked like a Great White… BUT what would I know, he has more experience….