Boat Suitability For Offshore Fishing

Guest Sea Jay

Guest Sea Jay

This is my first time on this site and i am pretty new to the fishing game, but i am looking to get serious and catch some real fish.

Just a question i was hoping to get some help on so i dont get my self in trouble.

I have just bought a Sea Jay 4.4m Aluminum boat with a 4 stroke Honda 40Hp outboard motor. I have a Humminbird Matrix GPS and a standard 2 radio

Do you think this boat is suitable for offshore fishing and is there any places around the hawksbury and botany bay areas that you can suggest i start venturing 'outside' to where i can start to catch some real fish, rather than just whinching goldfish size bait fish to te surface which is all i have experienced in the past.

Any help is greatly appriciated.

Edited by Sea Jay

:1welcomeani: to the site Seajay.

Probably need a few more details on your boat to get a real idea of how far out you can go, mind you if you've got the right safety gear you can get a long way out if you pick your weather, some blokes caught some insane fish out of tiny tinnies in the 70.s.

To kick off, look into Flint and Steel, out around Box head, Lion Island and Barrenjoey, East and West Reefs and Boltons out of the Hawkesbury.

Plenty of big fish options around the mouth of the harbour too, From Quarantine pt and Old Mans Hat and around North head is another good area.

Pick the right day and lauch at Long reef and youre in for a short run to the Long Reef grounds too

All depends on what youre comfortable with, be very weather aware, have good radios and bail if you have doubts.

Plenty of good fish options in enclosed waters too, Kings in the harbour and Pittwater, Jewies in the harbour and Hawkebury and Cowan,

The fish are there you just have to work at them, but the same should be said of all the offshore reefs around Sydney, All the dumb fish were caught a long time ago

Regards Pogo

Guest bluecod
:1welcomeani:  to the site Seajay.