Newbie looking for tips

notoriousTASH

Good evening guys and thanks for the add!

My name is Tash and ive just signed up to the site as I have seen quite a bit of good info on here and wanted to become part of the community. Also hope to get some help. Please forgive me if I've posted this in the wrong topic etc, as I'm also new to forums. Also, apologies in advance if I rattle on too much. If you're disinterested, skip to the bottom to see my questions :)

So to fill you in, my partner and I have just started getting in to fishing. I am a complete newbie to the sport, having started fishing a couple weeks ago up at Nambucca Heads (30min south of Coffs). My partner used to fish when she was a child but hasn't had the opportunity to do it for a long time, until our trip to Nambucca where she, like myself, really enjoyed it and want to explore it more.

While we were at Nambucca, I managed to land my first fish, which was a whopping great big 8cm bream lol. Partner had more luck - she landed a couple of 36cm bream and a flathead which was 1cm undersize unfortunately.

Anyway, we ended up buying a couple of cheap rods (just to start off with) and have been out a few times around Sydney since then. Turns out I'm great at feeding the fish, not so great at actually hooking them. That was, until today. We thought we would check out La Perouse, hopped down on to the rocks at Bare Island (with newly purchased life jackets - safety first!). I hooked something there but it managed to get away, though it felt really big. Other than that, a few bites but most of our time was spent trying to deal with snagging issues!!

We then popped over to try our luck off the rocks at Malabar. Again, a frustratingly snaggy area to work with. Partner ended up catching a 46cm shortfin eel (ugly bastard) and I managed to land a 25cm travelly which was very exciting for me and has given me more drive to learn the skill of fishing even more. 

What I would like to know is: