braid(again)

redfish71

sorry to annoy you people with more braid questions, but i believe i found the cause of my knot problem,after it happening again i looked closely at the knot i had tied to join the braid to the leader and as i was casting the braid was catching the tag on the knot, so i will have to try and find a way to trim the tags better but its quite hard with scissors.

just another quick question , im using 15lb braid so do you match the leader to the braid you are using, like 15lb braid = 15lb leader or can you use lighter leaders on heavy braid say 10lb leader on 15lb braid? . 

I’m really no expert but I’ve always been told to use lighter leader than main braid line so if anything is to break it’s the few feet of leader and not the main braid line. 

As for joining try using the double uni knot. 

Others more experienced may know more than me.

good luck

Edited by shakey55

what knot are you using ?

In regards to the leader question it shouldn't matter what size leader or main line your using i commonly run heavy leaders on lighter main lines when fishing for kings etc and lighter leaders when fishing in close 

In all honesty this sounds like a fault with the knot, just my 2 cents i could be wrong

Hi Redfish,

Short answer is shorten your leader so the knot does not pass through any of the guides. Now for the longer response:

How long a leader are you using? When I started fishing with braid over a decade ago the general consensus was two rod lengths of leader. Being an engineer and having a tendency to overthink things I spent a lot of time working out what and why something worked or didn't work. My leaders on most of my gear are sized so that the joiner knot does not pass through the guides coming or going - that is, I usually have 60cm to 1m of leader.

The reasons I use a leader rather than tying the braid to the terminal tackle:

• shock absorbtion (mono has more stretch than braid) - the rod tip also helps with this,