Woronora river and Cowan creek fishing?

Idan

Hi all, newbie here and just moved to Sydney from Auckland.

I want to do a a camping/fishing trip on Christmas, I have no problem hiking with my travel rod.

Do you know if the back end of the Woronora river, for example near lake Eckersley, has any fish? And what about Cowan creek, Jerusalem bay area?

Any tips for these spots - species, tackle to use?

I was thinking of these 2 spots for the simple fact that I don't have a car yet, and their accessible by train!

Thanks

Idan

Ok folks I'm going to clear this up. Firstly welcome to fishraider IDAN . I hope you enjoy the wealth of knowledge that this site provides, it is world class, there are so many fantastic people on here willing to share there experiences. 

You can reach the beautiful jeresulm bay by a walking track that starts on the eastern side of the station  then a bridge over the F3 then a nice 30minute walk down hill to the bay. There are plenty of places to camp ,just got to use your inner bear grills and remember no fires. The fishing on and at the edge of the sand flats is fantastic about 3 hours either side of low tide. You can pump nippers and plenty of poddy mullet. You can wade across to the rocky outcrop at the NE end of the bay and has a deep drop of on the southern side. Watch out for stingrays when wading. This is exactly the same for berowra station (which is the stop before Cowan) which will take you to beautiful waratah bay. I hope this gives you a heads up mate.  

Cheers Scotty 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1