Replacing a transom

Pickles

One of my buddies (not a Raider) has a Whitley with a dodgy transom. 
He asked what I thought would a likely cost be to replace it. From others I know who’ve had it done, I suggested about $4000 from a marine repairer / builder.

He is pretty handy and thought he might do it as a “project repair” and asked my opinion. I suggested that maybe if the transom was rotted, the stringers probably would be too, which would make it a much bigger job than might be expected, but I did say I’d post it here and see if there were any Raiders who have undertaken a si liar job?

Hey pickles I replaced transom on my Yalta I done it from the outside as the fibreglass was badly damaged it is a big job but there is plenty of info out there I'm a carpenter so woodwork was no problem but had never done any glass work or spray painting before and while the finish isn't as good as a pro would do I have complete faith in the strength of it oh it was done about 8 years ago if his handy there's no reason why not I also replaced floor 5 years ago but stringers were ok so an easy job. Fibreglass is shit to do though 

1 hour ago, motiondave said:

I bodge repaired my transom in my boat during winter, I got in the boat and dug out as much rot as I could leaving some wood attached to the fibreglass on the back, considering the transom has been soft since I bought the boat but never failed, gotta love old boats and their overkill in manufacturing...

After cleaning out as much as I could, I soaked it in resin around where I could, the cut pieces of ply to size and resin one at a time in. Took me about 4 weeks to allow the transom to dry out after I cleaned it out, the resin to dry plus matting to help it all hold. Did the job fine here.