Buffalo coal forge & knife forging project

kingie chaser

Hi Raiders

I often like to take on projects that are outside my wheelhouse & that will add to what I like to do or add to the bigger picture as part of a future hobbies I want to pursue which knife making is just one of them, but anytime I can expand my knowledge on anything that moves it always puts a smile on my face.

I had done plenty of research, probably watched to many hours of forged in fire & the fact that I am a chef & knife collector it is something I have always wanted to get into.

While talking in a past thread(cant recall the one exactly) I spoke about my desire to make my own knives & @frankS piped in straight away & said he had an old coal forge sitting around that he didn’t have any further need for & was happy to pass on.

Stoked!

When I went to pick it up & I also got a welding lesson, frank was in the middle of his trailer build & as welding is part of the forging/knife making process he offered to give me a lesson which was interesting & much appreciated.

After doing some initial research the forge & on the Buffalo forge company it was a very interesting to see how things were done in the good old days of the late 1800’s & early 1900’s, finding the origins of this model I dated it at around 1930 era.

https://www.howden.com/en-us/articles/refrigeration/the-history-of-buffalo-forge-infographic

It became clear that this was something of age & something worth saving & also putting to use again which I have every intention in doing.

Upon breaking it down there were tell tail signs that there were a fair few components that were not original. The bones which was the blower & the blower body were pretty much all that were original. For me as this was not a restoration back to original condition but more refurbishment about making the forge after all these years into a functional piece of equipment again so this did not concern me.