Desperate for fish

Kirelda

Been trying to get a fish on lures for what feels like an eon. Had a couple great people on here help me out to no avail. Anyone know any great places around the Botany area to flick a few lures? I have soft plastics, blades, divers and topwaters. Mainly looking for bream but I'll take just about anything, heck I'll be glad if a tailor can chew through my line because it'll at least mean something ate my lure.

Any help is appreciated.

• Like 1

Sorry to hear you've been struggling of late. Winter fishing can be tough for landbased lure anglers. I for one haven't landed a decent fish on a lure for a month, but I'm also very time + location constrained to a small geographical area. I'd rather be fishing and not catch fish than to not go fishing at all, so I'm happy with my lot.

I'm no Botany expert but I have had some success around the Georges River Sailing Club flats, casting small 2-3inch plastics. Not sure about winter though. When the fishing is tough, I often revert to gulps as I swear the scent soaking makes them more attractive. That's what I do when I want guarantees.

As an alternative, I've been having a lot of fun fishing with cheap white bread as bait, either unweighted (3x3cm pieces squeezed around a size 6 long shank hook) or under a float. If you berley regularly with the bread, normally bream and/or trevally will come out to play. Fish light - I use 4lb mono - and a pile of fun will be had.

Anyhow, hopefully a few others with local knowledge might help.

• Like 1

58 minutes ago, Little_Flatty said:

Sorry to hear you've been struggling of late. Winter fishing can be tough for landbased lure anglers. I for one haven't landed a decent fish on a lure for a month, but I'm also very time + location constrained to a small geographical area. I'd rather be fishing and not catch fish than to not go fishing at all, so I'm happy with my lot.