New Light or UL Rod Recommendations?

linewetter

Hey guys.  I've currently got a 3-5kg combo that I got from <retailer removed>.  I'm mainly using it for soft plastics and targeting the common fish like bream, flathead, whiting, pinkies, etc.  I'm learning that my 3-5kg is kind of overkill for fish like these so I want to purchase a lighter rod so I can have a bit more fun with the fish and also cast lighter lures (like 1/16 jigheads & ~2g topwaters) farther.

Do you guys have any recommendations for something in the $200-250 range?  Will the 1-3kg rod make a big difference in the fun factor?  I'm still new to fishing and really love it but don't have much time to fish so want to make the limited time I have the most enjoyable it can be at a reasonable cost. 

I have been researching a bit on my own and so many choices - have looked over the Daiwa TD Infeet, Daiwa TD Black, Shimano Anarchy, Atomic Arrowz.  All diff price points but looking for something that is good value - something where spending that extra small bit is worth it for what you get in return.

I'm planning to move over my Shimano Sienna 2500HG FG from the combo over to the 1-3kg rod but reel recommendations are welcome too if it would improve my experience dramatically.  Have looked into the Shimano Nasci & Shimano Stradic but not sure if I'm ready to spend the additional if the Sienna would do the job fine for my purposes right now.

Hi linewetter (I like the name). Firstly, welcome to Fishraider. What I am going to suggest will likely get shot down in flames by others, but hey, we're all entitled to an opinion.

You are relatively new to fishing and unlikely to spend 40 hours a week fishing so why spend a heap on rod and reel?... get some lures, soft plastics and have fun. You can always upgrade later. Just remember, you don't need a Rolls Royce to drive to the shops.