mhiley

Hey raiders,

I am an Industrial Designer and am in the process of designing a PFD purely focusing on fishermen and women.

I have done all my research and background info gathering but now comes the fun part of actually designing the thing.

I would love your input. Whether you fish from a boat, a kayak, from rocks, from the beach or anywhere else!

Let me know things you love about current designs,things you hate about current designs, features you would love to see in a new PFD design, comfortable designs you have tried, uncomfortable designs and anything and everything related to PFD design that might help me design a flotation device that will best suit you!

Thanks very much for your help with thisl I hope I am not breaking any rules re: sponsors etc!

Cheers

Mark

That's sick to see another Industrial Designer on here, I'm currently studying it in my second year! Fishing related gear is something I'd love to get into when I finish! Back to the PFD though, every lifejacket I've ever worn has felt clunky, especially around the shoulder area.. Maybe you could balance the floats better around the front and rear, in a way that you could still wear it comfortably without feeling obstructed. The ones with a lot of straps too are really fiddly to play with, maybe something flexible that fits a range of sizes would make a better material, so that you wouldn't have to waste a lot of time adjusting different straps. Hope that was of some help!

If I had a chance to have my own custom pfd, it won't be bulky, esp around the shoulder\neck area.

Some pfds are either extremely thick, or really thin with floatation devices.

I would design one thats in the middle. It would half the thickness, and would also incorporate a pull cord for floatation devices to pop out. Possibly have some leds that light up when you pull the cord.

I would also have water proof pockets, to store my mobile phone, wallet and car keys - in case for whatever reason I go overboard.