Sans Souci Park

notoriousTASH

Hey guys, first fishing report here. Forgive me for lack of information, I'm only very new to fishing (started about a month ago) but thought I'd give you the best info I can about a successful day out today at Sans Souci Park.

We were fishing off the wharf closest to Captain Cook bridge. Really enjoyable place to fish, particularly if you're new like myself. Water was perfect, not choppy at all. No snags (praise the Lord!) either.

We got there not too long before low tide. Threw the line in with just a simple set up of swivel + heavier sinker (not sure the size) + hook, using a small prawn as bait. 3 minutes later I land a nice 26cm bream. After throwing the line in again, a further 3 minutes pass, another bream! The bites were constant until about an hour after low tide then it quietened down. 

Then about an hour before high tide, bites starter becoming more and more frequent. My partner ended up landing a 36cm trav, she was using swivel + heavier sinker + two hooks and pilchard as bait. She also hooked a tailor but dropped it back in the water. 

I thought I'd try a similar set up to hers and once I the the line in, landed a tailor myself. 

Toward the end of our day, I hooked something bloody massive, my rod bent over like crazy and put up a massive fight. Unfortunately I lost it without so much as a glimpse but what I can tell you is that it took both my hooks and the whole pilchard. I think I'll be wondering what that fish was for the rest of my days. 

Couple of people next to us almost got an enormous blue swimmer crab that latched on to the bait on their line but sadly it jumped off when it realised what was going on.