New Rod not assemble completely

Constant

Had this on a Abu Veritas recently. I got some ultra fine sandpaper and very carefully sanded down the male section until it was a snug fit and now its perfect. Obviously be very careful you dont take to much off or you're stuffed. leaving it as is I would be worried about having enough lap length to transfer the load between the two sections without risking failure at the joint.

Cheers,

Rich

34 minutes ago, Constant said:

This is MajorCraft Solpara SPS832EL EGI. I think it is saying Carbon Blank so not sure whether graphite. I have a few rods and none look like this. So just make me worry it will fall when casting.

It shouldn’t come out if it is pushed in snug, only you won’t have the full intended strength of the join if you leave it like that.

I’m no rod expert but I have had a few like this. First I would give both ends a very good clean. Have a look inside the female end with a light to make sure there is nothing obvious that is stopping it going in further. 

If it still won’t go in all the way then get some fine sandpaper and take a smidgen (micro) off the male end until it goes in all the way. Work VERY slow and keep checking the fit. It’s an easy, simple process really. 

Hi,

normal process for quite a few rod manufacturers now.

https://tforods.ca/blogs/news/blank-over-ferrule-technology

I build quite a few rods, mainly fly rods and this is common.

Be careful if you remove anything from the 'male' end as with wear and tear in normal use, you will end up with a loose joint and then the problems really begin.

Tinkicka

2 hours ago, Tinkicka said:

Hi,

normal process for quite a few rod manufacturers now.

https://tforods.ca/blogs/news/blank-over-ferrule-technology

I build quite a few rods, mainly fly rods and this is common.

Be careful if you remove anything from the 'male' end as with wear and tear in normal use, you will end up with a loose joint and then the problems really begin.

Tinkicka