Off set circle hooks

Fab1

I’d like people theories and views on these hooks as today I had a size#1 on with prawns or squid with barb fully exposed getting good bites and weight on rod but no hook up.

I’m new to it and read you have a firm drag set,cast then sort rod in holder.When you see the rod buckle over you grab rod and start winding.But no hook up.

I’ve read only use inline circles and to use a snell knot.I know how to snell but I have trouble getting away from my nicely tied uni’s or locked half blood knots.

cheers.

• Like 2

Never been a fan of Snelling hooks, but, that's just me, getting bites and no fish in Lake Illawarra will almost certainly be small Bream/Snapper grabbing the bait and trying to get away from their mates! or worse, Toads that have a tiny mouth, but take a bait like a much bigger fish, but hardly ever get hooked.

• Like 1

I think most people respond to fish activity on the circle hook much too quickly. You need time for the circle hook to turn over in the fishes mouth and the fish to turn around and swim away from the anglers position - so the trace aligns with the fish’s body and the hook is dragged across the edge of the fishes mouth. For this to be effective the hook must pull itself into the set from behind (well, almost) - pulling from in front will pull bait and hook out of the mouth without hookup.  

remeber circle hooks were originally used on longlines - so completely unattended. When they first came on the market we called them Japanese longline hooks.

I think the idea about snelling circles comes from the fact it aligns the hook differently, curling back towards the trace rather then with the shank aligned with the trace as you would want with a j hook. The idea is that the alignment of a shelled hook gives it a head start in setting itself. I don’t think it’s important - or would have much of an effect unless you are using very heavy mono traces on small fish.