I swear the Luderick hate me

Hello raiders. Went for a quick session at Narrabeen near the car park so a short report. Was using prawns as bait and was using very small sinkers and fine line (6lb) and caught 2 luderick on the prawn. Obviously, I was happy with the results but was also a little ticked off because I wasn’t happy on how it caught them. I’ve been chasing this species for 2 months with a pencil float set-up that I copied from a different thread, using sea cabbage and stringy weed with no results and now I catch them on PRAWN ON A RUNNING SINKING RIG. Just when I switch back to bottom fishing with sinkers I FINALLY CATCH LUDERICK. I know that they are omnivorous (used to get them as a by-catch then targeting other species) but I just found it annoying when I finally catch some blackies when I’m not targeting them. 🤣🤣🤣 Those fish must really hate me. Unfortunately, I didn’t take photos because they were only small fish and were safely released. Now I’m determined to catch them on the cabbage/weed even more becuase I know that they are still around but I’m still confused why I couldn’t get them on cabbage when I was using the traditional rigs. Maybe I’m doing something wrong? 🤔

Cheers 😄

Edited by TheFishyFisherman
  • Like 7
  • Haha 1
  • Confused 1
  • Sad 1

If you got them on a running sinker rig you got them on the bottom , maybe you’re not running your float rig deep enough ? Certain times of year they will shy away from the green stuff and eat prawns . 

• Like 5

1 hour ago, TheFishyFisherman said: