Darn Jewfish wouldn't let me sleep =) - 25/04/13

quintrex480

Hi Raiders, well decided on a change of scenery to target the elusive mulloway on Thursday morning, but firstly a big thanks to the KFC (you guys know who you are and special thanks to Al and Paul for all the tips and advice).

So loaded up on yakkas at good old trusty molli point was the first point of call at around mid-night, wind was blowing from South to West and everything in between, made it hard to hold the spot I wanted and made getting yakkas really hard, but once the wind stopped, yakkas were filling up the tank quite quickly. Threw in some pillies to try for tailor and managed a few as well.

Then it was up river, got to our spot and dropped anchor and sent live yakkas, yakka fillets and live tailor down. The live yakka get's hit straight away and my mate being a total newbie, fights it like he's fighting a king. Drag cranked up and pulling on it so hard that the line could have snapped even if it was 50lb :D, and no second guessing what happens next, he pulls the hook right out!

Anyways a good 30 mins goes by and my baitrunner starts singing, let it run for a little bit, engaged and it takes some line, comes in at 65cm, pretty happy about that. Then all goes quiet for a good hour, so decided to get some shut eye. As soon as I start drifting off, the all so familiar sound goes off again, I look up but I see the rods just fine, so I must have just been dreaming :D , but then I hear it again and I remembered that I put a rod out front, and the rod is bent almost over board and it's taking drag, run up and pull it in to 78cm, high five my mate and we're up so we start getting into it again. but again, all goes quiet, and again we decide to try and get some sleep.