Gold Coast Seaway Wall

Dave_

G'day everyone,

Now that I've settled in after my recent move to QLD, I've started having a look at a few land based spots that I can try until I get a few things sorted with my boat. I must say that my fishing form has dropped of considerably since coming up here, hopefully that's just due to the fact that I'm still learning the area.

Anyway, the Mrs and I gave the Gold Coast Seaway wall a go twice over the last week. Reports that the wall is incredibly hard to fish due to the fact that the rocks extend a long way out and strong tidal flow didn't deter me and were somewhat exaggerated. It's not that hard to fish, I didn't have one bust off due to snags.

The first day was a little frustrating, a few undersized flatties between 36-39cm (40cm limit here) and a small flounder for me. My wife hooked up to a small Queenie on her second cast which done a few backflips and she done well to land it on the Bream gear. It was cool to see a new species for both of us. Not much else after that.

Today was tough too. We got there at first light, about 2 hours before high tide. Perfect for surface feeding pelagics or so I thought. Spun metals for a couple of hours on the big gear for no result. No bust ups so I was only prospecting. I tried a few ganged pillies on the big gear and plastics on the small gear but only a small ray for me. My wife hooked a nice Silver Trevally which fought well and she got a nice Tarwhine not long after. Not much else after that.