Why I don't own a boat

Little_Flatty

Years ago, in the dark ages when I wasn't fishing or hanging out much on Fishraider, I was young, stupid and had a grown-up income with a not-so-grown-up life. I was riding and racing road, track and mountain bikes a lot at the time, keeping Shimano well-funded in spite of my fishing absence.

The year before I met my wife, I started studying again and decided to slow down my racing. Not racing meant my bikes were less disposable (it can be rough and tumble in the bunch - the saying is 'race what you can replace'). It was a really good year at my work, and I got a decent bonus. Rather than saving it like I would these days, I dropped the lot on a beautiful custom road bike with top of the range components. This bike has served me well for more than a decade, but as kids came along, I started to neglect it. I think in the past seven years, it's been washed only a handful of times, even after a dirty ride in the rain! I'm a bit ashamed of that, but priorities do change as your life evolves.

As a consequence, it is a little worse for wear these days! No longer having the concentration span to do a major service at home (I'd never finish the job!), I put it in at my local bike shop for a service. Not surprisingly, it needs just about everything replaced! The bill? Well let's just say I could buy a fully decked out Hobie (complete with sounder) or even a cheap boat - or in fact quite a good new bike - for the amount it is going to cost! Taking COVID supply issues into account, I knew the price was reasonable. I couldn't really say no, seeing as this was a custom bike made for me; to not go ahead would leave me with a custom-made useless hunk of metal. I added one further upgrade (tubeless tyres) to it and left it to the mechanics to weave their magic.

Moral of the story is: the decisions you make when you are young and stupid will likely catch up with you when you get older! 🤣