Softplastic help

faker

Not sure if I am using soft plastic properly. Using a 2.5 grubz with 1/8 oz jighead in deep wharf but not feeling any bites. So when I cast out the line . I let it hit bottom and then lift rod and wind back to my starting position and pause. But line appears to still be curved until it hits bottom where it curves out more. 

How do I recognise bite?

• Like 1

5 hours ago, faker said:

Not sure if I am using soft plastic properly. Using a 2.5 grubz with 1/8 oz jighead in deep wharf but not feeling any bites. So when I cast out the line . I let it hit bottom and then lift rod and wind back to my starting position and pause. But line appears to still be curved until it hits bottom where it curves out more. 

How do I recognise bite?

I'm no expert saltwater angler but I have had a lot of success with soft plastics. The following works for me. I am assuming you are using braid with a leader. Make sure the lure reaches the bottom. You may need to vary the weight of the jighead to suit the conditions ( strong current or strong wind). Ideally, you should fish as light as you can while achieving good presentation of the s/p. You watch the line settle on the water and see the result of it sinking when the line goes slack. Wind in the slack line and start your retrieve. There are many different retrieve methods and you should not be afraid to try a variety of them. A slow roll retrieve will keep the s/p close to the bottom (keep your rod tip down), while a few vertical twitches will allow the s/p to sharply dart upwards, before slowly sinking to the bottom (like a startled or injured bait fish). Keep the rod at about 45 degrees vertical for this retrieve. Often fish will hit the lure as it descends toward the bottom so it's important to keep the line fairly tight and ensure your rod tip is in contact with the s/p. Use the reel constantly to ensure that the line is reasonably tight to the s/p, you will feel the bite and can strike to set the hook.