Bream secret thoughts.

Pickles

I read with interest @maccapaccareport on bream from recent land based trip and thought I’d share a few thoughts. Before starting let it be known that I am no expert, especially on bream (rats of the water), they are great to catch on light gear, but (in my opinion), greatly over rated as a table fish. However,  I have had some really memorable catches when they have been going nuts and landed over 30 keepers (released of course) or more in a session.

* a storm / low pressure / cold front, after a fine sunny period (high pressure) really turns them on, so if time allows, getting out before a predicted storm increases chances - Remember that graphite is a great conductor of electricity, so if lightening, stay at home.

* live bait is always a preference (appropriate to the season e.g. prawns in summer, but nippers any time are no 1 bait choice (for me). Small baits will catch big fish, but they are voracious predatory feeds at times, so even small fish will swallow a big bait. As @motiondavementioned live garden worms (although they go white pretty quickly are great also) 

* my best session ever was fishing the storm water drains around Sydney harbour during and after a storm - the fish were schooled up waiting for anything edible to be washed down to them - I floated some small yakka pieces unweighted and they fought each other to hit them first- if I’d had some poppers I would have thrown them in and sure they would have been monstered. 

* fish light (4-8lb) and be prepared to lose some fish to structures, but if your “tangled on structure” open the nail arm and they’ll often swim themselves free.

* target their spawning period which is winter (May is a great month when they start schooling up and feeding up - but rug up).

These are just a few thoughts 

B422B530-02B0-4724-9B13-8861ABA01C48.jpeg

2B987714-39CD-4AFB-B4AB-5B4E0DEE156F.jpeg

• Like 10
  • Thanks 1