First time offshore as skipper

Derny Driver

So im upgrading my tinny to a larger boat to go outside fishing on good days.  I have a lot of questions which I would appreciate advice on:

1. I am happy with the boat, I will post more about this in the weeks to come. I don't have it yet so I'm trying to tick things off while I wait. It is well equipped with epirb and radio etc but could someone point me to a list of requirements for going outside?

2. I am in the process of getting my boat licence.  I have a mate to help me do the practical stuff and sign off. But it seems I need a vhf radio licence as well? Is online with Above and Beyond Boating best for this? They also have online skipper courses which look useful. 

3. The boat has a good sounder but I've never used one before and I can see myself aimlessly motoring around out there looking for gps marks. I'm guessing if you find fish you try to anchor upcurrent and hold the mark over them. Do I need a Minn Kota? No idea how to work one of them either. 

4. I will log in with the app as well as radio to maritime rescue. Are there other safety priorities? I did some big wave surfing when I was younger, I'm not scared of the ocean but I respect it and don't want to take any risks. 

Thanks

DD

• Like 3

1) all mandatory safety equipment list is on the Maritime website, and available at some boating shops.

2) a VHF “certificate of competence” is pretty easy to get, lots of fishing clubs run them. It is a lifetime qualification and teaches basic radio use.

3) if the sounder has the owners manual, read it, if not, just practice with the controls, don’t be too gung Ho about seeing “stuff” and thinking huge fish will be caught in a minute! A Minn Kots is nice, but not necessary first off.

4) take it in small steps, don’t rush out 30 miles first day, get to know the boat, if it gets rough, take your time, don’t try to go full speed home. As long as you have power and adequate fuel, you will get home!

• Like 2