E-Tec or 4 Stroke Motor

Rebel

Hi All,

I am looking at buying a new boat. Probably a 4.6 metre  Stacer or Quintrex  runabout. I have always bought  oil mix motors, but now I just don't know. The motor will be a 60 hp. I am in two minds at what to buy E-Tec or 4 Stroke.. Any suggestions.

Cheers.

Etec arent the only manufacturers of 2 stroke.....i beleive mercury and yamaha also make 2 strokes but i dont know what HP options they have.

All that being said...ive had ETECs for the last 6 yrs and love every minute of it.

Sheer unrelenting power....no stuffing around struggling to get on plane and good fuel economy. Also very reliable.

PS.....Telwater (Quintrex) is now the exclusive distributor of ETEC in Australia...they prerig quinnies in the factory with etecs.....

Telwater is Australias biggest boat manufacturer....tells u something??

G’day Rebel, first up I’m no expert. 

From what I’ve read, seen pro’s talk and experienced modern four strokes are as good if not better than 2 strokes now. 

Equal or lighter in weight. 

No need to purchase and mix and store oil. 

No oil smell. 

On the “unsure” aspects, 

im not sure how service costs compare - coz with a new motor you have to get it serviced by an authorised dealer to maintain the warranty, 

and 

I’m not sure about holeshot power, but I’ve got a Four Stroke and it has no problem getting my boat up on the plane, but I’ve got a 6m fibreglass boat with a bigger hp 150 motor than a 60. 

My way of thinking is I’m not fussed about any % of  holeshot either way, as long as it gets up quick, which mine does anyway. 

I’d look seriously at a Four Stroke. 

Jamie

25 minutes ago, 552Evo said:

G’day Rebel, first up I’m no expert. 

From what I’ve read, seen pro’s talk and experienced modern four strokes are as good if not better than 2 strokes now. 

Equal or lighter in weight. 

No need to purchase and mix and store oil. 

No oil smell. 

On the “unsure” aspects,